Her words changed the world.

2014 Student Stowe Prize

For Excellence in Writing to Advance Social Justice
To be awarded at the Stowe Center Big Tent Celebration, June 5, 2014

Presenting sponsor: The Hartford

The Harriet Beecher Stowe Center is pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 Student Stowe Prize:

Madeline Sachs


Madeline Sachs of University of Chicago Laboratory High School (Chicago, IL) for her speech, “Juvenile Life Without Parole” presented at Beth Emet synagogue, Evanston, IL.








Donya Nasser



Donya Nasser of St. John’s University (New York, NY) for her essay, “Women in Leadership for Today and Tomorrow” published on the American Association of University Women of New York website.







Runner Up: Yesica Solano, Mount Vernon High School, (Mount Vernon, WA) for her poem “Shoot Me Dead” published in Dream Fields: A Peek into the World of Migrant Youth.

The Student Stowe Prize, established by the Harriet Beecher Stowe Center in 2012, recognizes outstanding writing by United States high school and college students that motivates positive action for social justice. The Prize recognizes writing that is making a tangible impact on a social justice issue critical to contemporary society.  Issues may include, but are not limited to: race, class and gender.  Entries must have been published or publicly presented.

The 2014 prizes will be awarded June 5, 2014 from 5:30-9 PM at the Stowe Center’s Big Tent Celebration sponsored by The Hartford.  The event’s honorary chair, U.S. Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro, will present the awards, which include a $2,500 cash prize to Ms. Nasser, and a $1,000 cash prize to Ms. Sachs.

Mses. Nasser and Sachs will participate in a free public program, Inspiration to Action: Real Stories of Social Change, preceding the Big Tent Celebration from 3:00 to 5:30 p.m. at Immanuel Congregational Church, 10 Woodland Street in Hartford, across the street from the Stowe Center.  The program includes a networking fair for community activists and a panel discussion with the Student Stowe Prize winners as well as additional panelists to be named.

Winning entries were chosen from submissions from high school and college students throughout the country.  The panel of judges included Dr. Eugene Leach, Trinity College; Renwick Griswold, University of Hartford; Elizabeth Devine, Hall High School, West Hartford, CT; Wendy Nelson Kauffman, Metropolitan Learning Center, Bloomfield, CT; and Anthony Roy, Connecticut River Academy, East Hartford, CT.

The Student Stowe Prize is presented in alternating years with the Harriet Beecher Stowe Prize, presented in 2011 to Sheryl WuDunn and Nicholas D. Kristof for Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide and in 2013 to Michelle Alexander for The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness.

The Student Stowe Prize was first awarded in 2012 to Hannah C. Morgan (college) and Tess Domb Sadoff (high school). Read more about the 2012 Student Stowe Prize winners.

The Student Stowe Prize will be awarded again in 2016. Please visit again later for details.